What are the climate zones in Kenya?

What are the climate zones in Kenya?

Kenya is an African country, bisected by the Equator, yet it has three types of climate: hot and humid along the coast (zone 1 on the map), temperate in the west and south-west, where there are mountains and plateaus (zone 2 on the map), and finally, hot and dry in the north and east (zone 3 on the map).

What is the climate of northern Kenya?

Northern Kenya is a fairly arid region with little rainfall and abundant sunshine year round. This is camel country. Average temperatures vary between 40° C and 20° C. The best time to visit this area is June, July, August and December.

What type of climate is Watamu Kenya?

Watamu’s climate is classified as tropical. The summers are much rainier than the winters in Watamu. The average annual temperature is 26.2 °C | 79.1 °F in Watamu. About 755 mm | 29.7 inch of precipitation falls annually.

What is the climate in Mount Kenya?

The current climate on Mount Kenya is wet, but drier than it has been in the past. The temperatures span a wide range, which diminishes with altitude. In the lower alpine zone they usually don’t go below 12 °C (54 °F). Snow and rain are common from March to December, but especially in the two wet seasons.

What is the main language of Kenya?

Kenya/Official languages

Which is the hottest county in Kenya?

Temperatures in major towns in Kenya are some of the highest recorded in history, increasing the risk of violent winds and forest fires, the weatherman has said. Lodwar in Turkana County is currently the hottest place in the country, with temperatures peaking at 40°C followed by Wajir at 39.2°.

Does Kenya have 4 seasons?

Unlike the rest of the country, these mountainous regions have four distinct seasons. Elsewhere, the weather is split into rainy and dry seasons rather than summer, fall, winter, and spring. Kenya’s weather is dictated by monsoon winds, which help to make the high temperatures of the coast more bearable.

What are the top 3 languages in Kenya?

Official Languages Of Kenya

  • Swahili. Swahili is one of the major languages used in Kenya.
  • English. English is the other language which is recognized by law as the official language in Kenya.
  • Kikuyu. Kikuyu is one of the major regional languages in the country.
  • Luhya. Luhya is another major regional language spoken in Kenya.