Useful tips

What happens if you table scratch on the 8-ball?

What happens if you table scratch on the 8-ball?

When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.

What is a foul in 8-ball pool?

If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table.

Does the ball come out when you scratch?

The Billiard Congress of America defines a scratch — a shot on which the cue ball is pocketed — as a foul. Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn.

Is there a 3 foul rule in 8-ball?

The opponent legally pockets the 8-ball. IMPORTANT: This rule is not utilized in amateur league play. If a shooter commits a foul three times in a row without making an intervening legal shot, the result is a loss of game. A 3rd foul will result in a loss of game.

Can you scratch off 8 ball?

So what happens if you scratch on the 8 ball? In the official rules, if you scratch when you are shooting for the 8 ball, your turn is over and your opponent gets the ball in hand. If however, you make the 8 ball in a pocket and then scratch you lose the game.

Where does the ball go after being scratched?

Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.

How can I lose my 8 ball pool?

If the player knocks the 8 ball off the table, the player loses the game. If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, the player loses the game.

What happens if you scratch an 8 ball?

Here are the different set of rules related to scratching the 8ball : Game Win: If you legally pocket the 8 ball in the break. Game loss: If you pocket the 8 ball in the break and another foul occurs simultaneously.

Can a pocketed object ball be spotted after a foul?

Pocketed object balls are not spotted after a foul (scratch or any other type of foul). On the other hand, there are myriad house rules that I’ve played by: 8-ball on break, loser pays $5; 8-ball on break loses game; All shots must be called; Pull object balls on scratch; No combination shots; Combination shots can use opponent’s object ball; etc.

What happens if you scratch a ball in pool?

If a player commits a table scratch, the opposing player takes over with ball in hand anywhere on the table. If a player scratches on an 8 ball shot, but fails to pocket the 8 ball, it is considered a foul. The opposing player takes over, ball-in-hand anywhere on the table.

What happens if you pocket the 8 ball?

Under BCA rules, you can’t win by pocketing the 8 ball on the break. Instead, the breaker can either have the balls completely re-racked or they can have the 8-ball spotted and continue the game. What Does it Mean to “Spot” the 8 Ball?