What is the minimum jail sentence for reckless driving in California?

What is the minimum jail sentence for reckless driving in California?

Under CVC §23104(a), a person convicted of driving recklessly or engaging in a speed contest which causes bodily injury to another person is subject to: Imprisonment in a county jail or state prison for a minimum of 30 days to 6 months; and/or. A fine ranging from $220–$1,000.

Is reckless driving a felony in VA?

Reckless driving in VA is not a felony (with rare exceptions). Whether you were charged with § 46.2-862 Reckless Driving by Speed, § 46.2-852 General Reckless Driving, or one of the other 12 types of reckless driving in VA, you have been charged with a class 1 misdemeanor.

Is reckless driving a misdemeanor?

Reckless Driving: Basics of the Offense Reckless driving is one of the most serious traffic offenses and is typically charged as a misdemeanor (as opposed to an infraction). A conviction can result in penalties ranging from heavy fines to incarceration in certain cases, depending on state laws.

How many miles over the speed limit is reckless driving in California?

Penalty for reckless driving in California Speeding in California is automatically considered reckless driving at 15 mph over the posted limit. First-time violators may be: Fined between $145 and $1,000.

Is VC 23152 b a wobbler?

Wobbler: VC 23152(a) is a wobbler crime. This means that VC 23152(a) may be charged as a felony or as a misdemeanor.

Is dry reckless a misdemeanor?

A dry reckless charge is a misdemeanor that is applied in cases where a person is driving in a way that demonstrates flagrant disregard of the safety of people or property1. Depending on the circumstances and evidence in a case a defendant may also be able to plead down to a dry reckless after an arrest for a DUI.

How long does a dry reckless stay on your record in California?

A reckless driving conviction in California adds two points to your driving record. If you’ve committed a non-alcohol-related reckless driving offense (dry reckless), the points will stay on your record for 3 years.