What is the difference between light medium and heavy duty trucks?

What is the difference between light medium and heavy duty trucks?

In the U.S., trucks are organized into eight classes, with Class 2 having two subdivisions. Class 1-3 trucks are light-duty, Class 4-6 trucks are medium-duty, and Class 7-8 are considered heavy-duty.

What are medium heavy duty vehicles?

Medium- and heavy-duty vehicles weigh more than 10,000 pounds and include school and public transit buses, freight, and other fleet vehicles.

What is the difference between light duty and heavy duty?

Light duty vs. Heavy-duty diesel vehicles typically include gear such as industrial, agricultural, construction, power generation, and manufacturing equipment—or commercial vehicles that weigh over 10,000 pounds—while light-duty diesel vehicles are the cars and trucks you’re more likely to see out on the road.

What is considered a medium duty vehicle?

Technically, the term “medium duty” is a truck classification widely used by those in the trucking industry. Medium duty trucks refer to truck Classes 6-7, which have a gross vehicle weight rating range of 19,501- 33,000 lbs. Medium duty trucks are used for a variety of lighter duty applications.

What’s the difference between light duty and medium duty?

Light-duty vehicles are those that have a GVWR of 14,000 pounds or less. Medium duty trucks are those that can weight between 14,001 to 26,000 pounds; while heavy-duty vehicles are those whose GVWR goes from 26,001 to 33,001 pounds.

What is considered heavy duty truck?

Any vehicle exceeding 26,001 pounds is considered heavy-duty. Examples include city transit buses, mobile cranes, cement mixers, refuse trucks, and tractors designed to pull refrigerated trailers, dry vans and other equipment.

What are light and medium duty vehicles?

The U.S. Census Bureau uses the following Vehicle Inventory and Use Survey classes to measure how many private and commercial trucks operate within the United States. Light-Duty Vehicle: <10,000 lbs. Medium-Duty Vehicle: 10,000 – 19,500 lbs. Light Heavy-Duty Vehicle: 19,001 – 26,000 lbs.

What is light medium and heavy duty scaffolding?

Light duty scaffolds support a few employees and hand tools. Medium duty scaffolds safely support workers, hand tools, and materials being installed. Heavy duty scaffolds safely support workers, hand tools, and the sustained weight of stored materials.

What’s the difference between medium and heavy duty trucks?

Even large commercial vehicles that are in higher classes are considered medium duty, so the “heavy duty” attribute is comparing it to other light duty trucks. Actual heavy duty trucks, like garbage trucks, can be found in class 7, while class 8 is reserved for severe duty vehicles like truck tractors and sleeper cabs.

What makes a vehicle heavy duty or light duty?

These classes, 1-8, are based on gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), the maximum weight of the vehicle, as specified by the manufacturer. GVWR includes total vehicle weight plus fluids, passengers, and cargo. FHWA categorizes vehicles as Light Duty (Class 1-2), Medium Duty (Class 3-6), and Heavy Duty (Class 7-8).

What kind of truck is a light duty truck?

Class 1-3 trucks are considered light-duty. Class 2A trucks, such as the Silverado 1500, are categorized as light-duty, while Class 2A models like the RAM 2500 are sometimes referred to as light heavy-duty. Class 4-6 trucks are considered medium-duty.

What are some examples of medium strength jobs?

Medium strength level For civilian workers, 28.4 percent of workers were required to work at a medium strength level. Examples of occupations with medium strength level requirements include: Animal caretakers may lift 30 pound bags of grain to feed horses at the racetrack for up to 2 percent of the workday.