What does Dukhrana meaning?

What does Dukhrana meaning?

Purple mango found in Thuravoor-Aroor area was named ‘Dukhrana’ by Fr. Kuriakose Elias Chavara. Fr. Kuriakose Elias Chavara named the mango ‘Dukhrana’ meaning remembrance.

What does Dukrana mean?

Mascarenhas himself recalls that the Hindus in Goa used to celebrate 3 July (the feast of Thomas the Apostle) as “Dukrana”, which he later realized as somehow similar to the Syriac ‘Dukrana’ which is the feast of the martyrdom of Thomas.

What did Thomas the Apostle do?

Thomas is famous for having doubted the Resurrection of Jesus and for demanding physical proof of the wounds of Christ’s Crucifixion. The phrase “doubting Thomas” was coined for his lack of faith. When Jesus showed him the wounds, St. Thomas became the first person to explicitly acknowledge the divinity of Jesus.

What is the feast of St Thomas?

It is said that Thomas the Apostle baptised three Kings who went on to become India’s first bishops. The Roman Catholic Calendar has observed July 3 as St. Thomas Feast Day since 1969.

What are the obligatory days of the Syro Malabar church?

In the Syro-Malabar Church, there are 6 holy days of obligation:

  • Epiphany (January 6)
  • Sts. Peter and Paul (June 29)
  • The Ascension of Our Lord (sixth Thursday after Easter)
  • St. Thomas (July 3)
  • The Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary (August 15)
  • Christmas (December 25)

Did Thomas the Apostle go to heaven?

The other apostles were miraculously transported to Jerusalem to witness her death. Thomas was left in India, but after her first burial, he was transported to her tomb, where he witnessed her bodily assumption into heaven, from which she dropped her girdle.

What is the importance of St. Thomas Day?

Thomas Day is observed on July 3 across the world. The day is quite important in the Christian calendar as it celebrates saint Thomas who is regarded as one of the twelve Apostles in accordance with the New Testament. The day is observed by Christians across the globe to pay homage to Saint Thomas.

What are the 9 liturgical seasons?

The Seasons

  • Weeks of Annunciation (Subara)
  • Weeks of Epiphany (Denha)
  • Weeks of Great Fast (Sawma Rabba)
  • Weeks of Resurrection (Qyamta)
  • Weeks of Apostles (Slihe)
  • Weeks of Summer (Qaita)
  • Weeks of Eliyah-Cross (Eliyah-Sliba)
  • Weeks of Moses (Muse)

What is Holy Trinity Day?

Feast of the Holy Trinity, also called Trinity Sunday, Christian feast in honour of the Trinity, celebrated in Western liturgical churches on the Sunday following Pentecost (the 50th day after Easter). It is known that the feast was celebrated on this day from as early as the 10th century.