Who won the Caulfield Guineas 2020?

Who won the Caulfield Guineas 2020?

The 2020 Caulfield Cup results saw the Chris Waller-trained Verry Elleegant become the 22nd mare to take out the race.

How many Caulfield Cup winners have won the Melbourne Cup?

11 winners have done the Caulfield Cup-Melbourne Cup double, while seven horses have done the Cox Plate-Melbourne Cup double. Two of them are Makybe Diva and Phar Lap – two Aussie icons. But one lead-up race that doesn’t garner as much attention at a mainstream level is the annual Geelong Cup.

How many mares have won the Caulfield Cup?

Only five mares have won in the last 28 years (Verry Elleegant, Jameka, Southern Speed, Ethereal & Arctic Scent). 14 of the last 27 winners have been 4yos (including Best Solution). Since 2008, five internationals have won – All The Good, Dunaden, Admire Rakti, Best Solution and Mer De Glace.

What distance is the Caulfield Cup?

The prize money for the Group 1 Caulfield Cup is a share of $5 million, making it one of the richest races in the world at its distance (2400m) or above.

Who is the all time winningest jockey?

Russell A. Baze

Rank Jockey Name 1st
1 Russell A. Baze 12,842
2 Laffit A. Pincay, Jr. 9,530
3 William Shoemaker 8,833
4 Pat Day 8,803

What is the prize money for the 1000 Guineas?

The Thousand Guineas is a Melbourne Racing Club Group 1 Thoroughbred horse race for three year old fillies at set weights run over a distance of 1600 metres at Caulfield Racecourse, Melbourne, Australia in early October. Total prize money for the race is A$1,000,000.

What is the prize money for the Caulfield Guineas?

Winners and past results of the Caulfield Guineas Winners and Past Results for the Caulfield Guineas. The Group 1 Caulfield Guineas hosted by the Melbourne Racing Club is a race for three year old horses held at the Caulfield Racecourse during the spring racing carnival. The Race has prize money worth $2,000,000.

Who was the last horse to win the Caulfield Guineas?

Helenus did it in 2002 and Mahogany before that in 1993 the last couple. In 1984 Red Anchor won the Caulfield Guineas, Cox Plate and Victoria Derby. God’s Own in 2005 was knocked over not once but twice and still got up to win.

Which is the best race in the Caulfield Guineas?

The Victoria Derby is another major race for classy milers that perform well in the Caulfield Guineas. In 2008, Whobegotyou went on to claim the AAMI Vase at Moonee Valley and then finished a close second in the Group 1 Victoria Derby at Flemington Racecourse. The Guineas began as a principal race in 1881 and achieved Group 1 status in 1979.