What are three themes in The Hobbit?

What are three themes in The Hobbit?

The Hobbit Themes

  • Coming of Age.
  • The Power of Language.
  • Greed, Trust, Fellowship.
  • Heroism.
  • Home and Birthright.

What is the theme of Lord of the Rings Fellowship?

Friendship. Friendship was a theme of The Lord of the Rings and was something that Tolkien was very influenced by. A Fellowship is created, consisting of all the Free Peoples of Middle-earth, including elves and dwarves, setting aside their differences against the common enemy of Sauron.

What are the Catholic themes in Lord of the Rings?

Catholic Themes in Lord of the Rings?

  • the importance of humility, pity, and mercy.
  • honoring God and his authority, and the fall of his sentient creations.
  • Catholic imagery and metaphor.
  • the chief heroes are rather physically weak beings, largely unnoticed by the greater world.

What are the major themes of The Hobbit?

The Hobbit’s main theme is Bilbo’s development into a hero, which more broadly represents the development of a common person into a hero. At the beginning of the story, Bilbo is timid, comfortable, and complacent in his secure little hole at Bag End.

What are some symbols in The Hobbit?

Symbols, such as Sting, the ring, and the Arkenstone, are used in The Hobbit to represent abstract ideas. Bilbo names his sword Sting as he begins to feel like a hero after he kills the large spider. The ring represents the ability to get away with things without being caught because it turns its wearer invisible.

What is a good theme for bravery?

Courage is looking beyond your own point of view. A common theme in this story is that a person must “walk around in another’s shoes.” The most courageous and heroic characters are those that are able to break the bonds of their perspective and see the world through another person’s eyes.