How many critical access hospitals are there in Missouri?

How many critical access hospitals are there in Missouri?

According to, as of April 2021 Missouri had: 35 Critical Access Hospitals. 339 Rural Health Clinics.

How much of Missouri is considered rural?

Health in Rural Missouri Of the over 6,000,000 residents of Missouri, 2.23 million, or 37 percent, are considered rural.

Is Missouri more urban or rural?

97.4% of the land area in the state of Missouri is classified as rural (per the 2000 Census). Nationwide, the same 97.4% of the land area is classified as rural, but only about 21% of the population lives in these rural areas.

What are the rural areas in Missouri?

10 Small Towns In Rural Missouri That Are Downright Delightful

  • Steelville, Crawford County.
  • Richmond, Ray County.
  • Chillicothe, Livingston County.
  • Higginsville, Lafayette County.
  • Louisiana, Pike County.
  • Caruthersville, Pemiscot County.
  • West Plains, Howell County.
  • Hollister, Taney County.

What are the requirements for Critical Access Hospital?

To receive federal funding, Critical Access Hospitals must adhere to several guidelines. They may have no more than 25 beds and must have an average duration of hospital stay under 96 hours. They must also be more than 35 miles from another hospital, with exceptions allowed for areas with poor roads or difficult terrain.

What is the definition of Critical Access Hospital?

Critical Access Hospital (Health Care) Law and Legal Definition. Critical access hospital (CAH) is a rural primary health care hospital that gives limited outpatient and inpatient hospital services to people in rural areas.

What is a critical access hospital?

Critical Access Hospital is a designation given to eligible rural hospitals by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). Congress created the Critical Access Hospital (CAH) designation through the Balanced Budget Act of 1997 (Public Law 105-33) in response to a string of rural hospital closures during the 1980s and early 1990s.