What are the former Eastern Bloc countries?

What are the former Eastern Bloc countries?

In Western Europe, the term Eastern Bloc generally referred to the USSR and its satellite states in the Comecon (East Germany, Poland, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, Romania, Bulgaria, and Albania).

What countries are in the Eastern Bloc of Europe?

The member countries of the Eastern Bloc were spread across eastern and central Europe and comprised of The Soviet Union, Poland, East Germany, Albania, Bulgaria, Yugoslavia, Romania, Czechoslovakia, and Hungary.

What countries were part of the Soviet bloc?

In the decades after it was established, the Russian-dominated Soviet Union grew into one of the world’s most powerful and influential states and eventually encompassed 15 republics–Russia, Ukraine, Georgia, Belorussia, Uzbekistan, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Latvia.

Where is Lafia in Europe?

eastern Europe
Situated in north-eastern Europe with a coastline along the Baltic Sea, Latvia has borders with Estonia, Russia, Belarus and Lithuania. It has linguistic links with Lithuania to the south, and historical and religious ties with Estonia to the north.

What was common in Eastern bloc nations?

Military forces were governed by the Warsaw Pact, which was established in 1955 in response to West Germany’s rearmament within NATO. Hence, controlled economies were common in eastern bloc countries.

What countries are Communist?

Today, the existing communist states in the world are in China, Cuba, Laos and Vietnam.

What are the Eastern Block countries?


  • Azerbaijan
  • Byelorussia
  • Estonia
  • Georgia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kirghizia
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Moldavia
  • Which countries are in Eastern Europe?

    Eastern Europe refers to the eastern part of Europe. Some of the countries that belong to Eastern Europe are Albania, Bosnia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Georgia, Hungary, Latvia, Poland, Russia, Romania, Turkey, Ukraine, Serbia, Slovakia, Moldova, Lithuania, etc.

    What was the Eastern Bloc?

    The Eastern Bloc (also the Socialist Bloc, the Communist Bloc, and the Soviet Bloc ) was the group of communist states of Central and Eastern Europe, East Asia, and Southeast Asia under the hegemony of the Soviet Union (USSR) during the Cold War (1947–1991) in opposition to the capitalist Western Bloc .